Below is a scam email pretending to be from Google – note that the link looks like it’s genuine until you hover over it and see its destination (and even the destination URL would still convince many…). The site you go to is very convincing.
The fact that my account (that I don’t have) has been ‘Stoped’ is obviously a clue to those of us who can spell! I really live in fear of the day that these scammers start to understand the importance of cheking teh spelin adn gramerr ov there emales…!
——– Original Message ——–
Subject: Your AdWords Google Account is stoped
Date: Wed, 2 Apr 2008 18:47:50 +0100
From: Google AdWords <adwords-noreply@google.com> <mailto:adwords-noreply@google.com>
To: <mail@mydomain.org.uk> <mailto:mail@mydomain.org.uk>
This message was sent from a notification-only email address that does,
not accept incoming email. Please do not reply to this message.
———————————————————————————-
Dear Google AdWords Customer,
Your ads have stopped running because we were unable to process your billing information.
We will reactivate you account after you update your billing information.
In order to reactivate your account, please sign it to your account at
http://adwords.google.com/select/login <http://adwords.google.com.sumh94.cn/select/index.html> , and update your billing information.
Once your account is reactivated and your billing information has been processed,
any your ads and campaigns can begin running immediately on Google.
Advertise your business on Google
No matter what your budget, you can display your ads on Google and our advertising network. Pay only if people click your ads.
———————————————————————————-
The Google AdWords Team
If you get one of these emails, do not follow the link and delete it immediately.
Chas
Solve the Web Technical Team
www.solve-the-web.co.uk
01491 836367
Good writing. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed my Google News Reader..
Matt Hanson
By: Matt Hanson on 11/04/2008
at 10:00